Mississippi Payment Resources
Summary of payment program
In the State of Mississippi, forensic medical examinations are at no cost to the patient.
Mississippi Bureau of Victim Assistance
Mississippi Sexual Assault Examination Payment Policy
Mississippi Crime Victim Compensation Application
Mississippi Crime Victims Compensation provides eligible victims of violent crime with financial assistance for certain out-of-pocket expenses directly related to the crime and not covered by any other source of benefit (insurance, Medicare, Medicaid, disability/death benefits, Workers’ Compensation, etc.)
Mail the completed, signed, and notarized Mississippi CVC Application to:
Office of the Attorney General
Crime Victim Compensation Division
P.O Box 220
Jackson, Mississippi 39205-0220
1-800-829-6766 or 601-359-6766Fax: 601-576-4445
- The crime must be reported to law enforcement officials within 72 hours after the crime or show good cause for not reporting.
- Application must be received within 36 months after the date of the crime. In cases of child sexual abuse, the application must be received within 36 months after the crime was reported, but not later than the victim’s twenty-fifth birthday.
- The victim or claimant must fully cooperate with law enforcement investigation and prosecution.
- The victim must not have contributed, provoked or in any way caused the injury or death; such claims may be denied or reduced.
- All other sources of payment such as insurance, Medicaid, Medicare and Workers’ Compensation must pay first.
- Other limitations apply.
- Individual must be the victim of a violent crime who has suffered personal injury, death or extreme psychological trauma as a result of the crime. Types of crime include: assault, child abuse, domestic violence, DUI crashes, hit & run, homicide, sexual assault, stalking and kidnapping.
- Dependents of a deceased victim or person authorized to act on behalf of dependents of a deceased victim.
- Persons authorized to act on behalf of the victim if the victim is a minor or is incapable of acting on his or her behalf.
- Family members of the victim who have mental health expenses related to the claim.
- Persons who have funeral expenses for the victim(s).
- A Mississippi resident who is a victim in a foreign country which does not provide compensation funds.
- A person who witnessed a violent crime and suffered extreme psychological trauma
The Office of the Attorney General operates the Division of Victim Compensation without tax dollars – the program is 100% offender funded. Revenue for compensation payments and administrative costs is derived from fees/fines imposed on criminals. Funds are generated through (1) mandatory assessments on felonies, misdemeanors and DUI infractions; (2) fees collected from felony offenders on probation and parole and; (3) other assessment fees imposed on convicted felons at the time of sentencing. Additional sources of revenue for the program are court-ordered restitution, reimbursement through subrogation rights and donations. The Division of Victim Compensation also receives a federal grant, Victims of Crime Act (VOCA). The VOCA grant funds are also derived from fees/fines imposed on criminals.
Coordination with healthcare
Medical care is usually provided by a doctor and/or a sexual assault nurse examiner (SANE) in a hospital emergency department or medical clinic.
A sexual assault nurse examiner is a specially trained and certified professional who will provide needed care, document the details of the assault, and collect evidence. The nurse can recommend treatment for sexually transmitted infections and pregnancy prevention if needed. In addition, the nurse is available to testify in court.
Local medical service provider in MS provide medical care after rape, contact MSCASA or a local rape crisis center. Rape crisis centers offer a trained crisis counselors to accompany the patient to the hospital; alternately, a supportive friend or family member can go with the patient.
If the survivor is seeking or considering medical care-
- The emergency room staff can perform a forensic medical exam – often called a rape kit – and will collect evidence against the perpetrator. In Mississippi, victims have up to 96 hours to have a Sexual Assault Nurse Exam (SANE). These exams are of no cost the victim. If its after 96 hours, medical treatment is still encouraged and they are still eligible for the exam. Contact your local state coalition to find out about SANE exams in your state.
- The survivor also has the option of providing any other evidence that may support their case, such as sheets, blankets, or anything that may have DNA from the perpetrator.
- The hospital will keep the evidence so bring a change of clothes for your friend if necessary.
- In the case of genital rape, a doctor may test for STI’s or recommend future testing.
- The doctor may also prescribe emergency contraception if there is a risk of pregnancy.
- Most hospitals provide an advocate for sexual assault survivors to provide support during this process. You may request this person’s presence from the local rape crisis center if one is not sent automatically. In addition to emotional support, this advocate will provide information regarding the survivor’s legal rights and options. These advocates are also trained to support friends and family members so you may also feel free to discuss your concerns with this person.
List of Programs and Services
List of Mississippi Rape Crisis Centers