North Dakota Payment Resources
Summary of payment program
Under N.D.C.C. § 12.1-34-07 a victim of sexual assault is not required to pay for any prescreening or examination for the purpose of gathering evidence for a possible prosecution, including the cost of antibiotics and other medications administered as part of the examination. The hospital or clinic where the victim is examined will be reimbursed directly by the North Dakota Office of Attorney General. The medical facility cannot bill the patient or their insurance company for these costs.
The victim will be responsible for the costs of additional care they may receive not related to the collection of evidence, such as x-rays, stitches, hospitalization, pain medication and counseling. The victim may be asked to provide insurance information and/or eligibility for Medicaid or Indian Health Services. If they do not have coverage, or there are costs not covered by insurance, they may be eligible to have these costs paid by the North Dakota Crime Victims Compensation Fund. Pursuant to N.D.C.C. § 54-23.4-16, the victim can receive victim compensation funds if they report the crime to law enforcement within 96 hours of the occurrence and cooperate with law enforcement and prosecution.
The hospital or clinic where the victim is examined will be reimbursed directly by the North Dakota Office of Attorney General. The Crime Victims Compensation Program, can approved payment at the rate of 80% of the billed charges or 80% of the balances after insurances have made payment. This program, by federal and state law, is a last resort payer and other resources such as insurances, Medicaid, IHS or Medicare must be explored first. Provider must accept this check as payment in full and not bill the victim for the balance.
- Innocent victims who have been physically or emotionally injured, in a violent crime in North Dakota or where a compensation program is not available, and required medical care.
- North Dakota residents injured by an act of terrorism in a foreign country.
- Dependents of a homicide victim.
- Individuals who assume responsibility for funeral and/or medical expenses of a homicide victim
- The individual must report the crime to law enforcement within 96 hours (four days).
- They must file an application within one year of the date of reporting the crime to law enforcement.
- They must cooperate with the investigation and prosecution of the offender.
- They must NOT have been assisting in, or committing a criminal act causing your injuries.
North Dakota Crime Victims’ Compensation Application | How to Apply for Crime Victims’ Compensation
Crime Victims Compensation Program
ND Department of Corrections & Rehabilitation
PO BOX 1898 | Bismarck, ND 58502-1898
(701) 328-6195 | 1-800-445-2322
ND Relay TDD: 1-800-366-6888
Coordination with healthcare
Council on Abused Women’s Services ( CAWS North Dakota)
List of North Dakota Advocacy Centers