New Hampshire Payment Resources
Summary of payment program
The victim will not be charged for the sexual assault examination. If they do not have insurance, or they decide not to report the assault to law enforcement, the New Hampshire Attorney General’s office will cover the cost of the exam. They will not be billed for anything above the insurance coverage limit.
The examination includes:
- Medical-forensic history, for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment.
- Head to toe physical exam, looking for trauma.
- Detailed genital exam, looking for trauma.
- Collection of forensic evidence (evidence that can be used for legal purposes, should you choose to report the crime.)
The victim will also receive a voucher to cover the costs of a follow-up exam.
New Hampshire Victims’ Compensation Forensic Sexual Assault Examination Billing Form
New Hampshire Victims’ Compensation Application | Spanish
New Hampshire Victims’ Compensation Brochure
The New Hampshire Victims’ Compensation Program helps victims of certain crimes with costs directly connected to the crime. Family members of homicide victims, and parents and/or legal guardians are also eligible under this program. Crime-related costs are covered on approved claims, if these costs are not covered by another financial resource.
- A victim who suffered physical and/or emotional injury in New Hampshire. If the crime did not happen
in New Hampshire, please see the National Association of Crime Victim Compensation Boards website.
- A victim of a person driving drunk, under the influence or purposely using a vehicle to hurt a victim.
- A dependent or legal representative of a deceased victim (homicide).
- A parent or legal guardian who is responsible for the medical expenses of a child victim.
To be eligible:
- The victim must report the crime to police.
- Sexual assault victims, who report to a local hospital within 5 days of the crime and cooperate with the examination and evidence collection, are eligible even if they decide not to report to police.
- The victim must file the victim compensation application within 2 years from the date of the crime. In rare cases, this time frame may be waived.
- The victim must cooperate with police and the court during the investigation and prosecution of the crime. The offender does not have to be convicted of a crime for you to be eligible for compensation.
Applications must be completed and signed, and mailed to:
New Hampshire Victims’ Compensation Program
Department of Justice
33 Capitol Street
Concord, NH 03301-6397
Telephone: (603) 271-1284
Toll Free: 1-800-300-4500 (in NH only)
TDD Access Relay NH 1-800-735-2964
Coordination with healthcare
A Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE) is a Registered Nurse who has been specially trained to provide comprehensive, uninterrupted care to sexual assault survivors, including conducting the forensic collection of evidence. The goal of the SANE Program is to minimize the physical and psychological trauma to the victim and to maximize the probability of collecting and preserving the physical evidence of an assault for potential use in the legal system.
Crisis center advocates are available across the state of New Hampshire to provide free and confidential support services to those impacted by domestic violence, sexual assault, and stalking.
For the 24/7 Sexual Assault Hotline in New Hampshire: 1-800-277-5570
For the 24/7 Domestic Violence Hotline in New Hampshire: 1-866-644-3574
New Hampshire Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence
For Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence Programs in New Hampshire – Map