South Carolina Payment Resources
Summary of payment program
SC Code of Laws Section 16–3–1350, which follows the guidance of the federal Violence Against Women Act statute, states that victims of assault in the State of South Carolina may request, at no cost to them, a forensic examination for sexual assault, regardless of their involvement with law enforcement. Health Care Providers shall bill Department of Crime Victim Compensation (DCVC) directly for individual charges for lab work, medications, emergency room fee, and physician’s fee.
Neither the victim nor their insurance, including Medicaid and Medicare, may be billed for the medico-legal examination.
Any fees beyond the actual collection of evidence during a forensic examination are the responsibility of the victim. A victim may submit a Compensation Application for payment consideration to the Victims’ Compensation Fund for these additional costs.
Sexual Assault Program (SAP): Pursuant to SC Code of Laws Section 16– 3–1350, DCVC is the primary payer and victims/ claimants are not to be billed for the collection of evidence.
South Carolina has a Crime Victim Compensation Fund to help citizens with costs related to injuries received as a result of the crime. The Department of Crime Victim Compensation (DCVC) may consider the costs of medical care, counseling, lost wages/support, for the victim, or for a victim that an individual is financially responsible for. The Compensation Program is the payer of last resort, all healthcare providers much file with the victim’s insurance provider prior to billing DCVC for reimbursement.
DCVC Payment & Reimbursement Guide
South Carolina Crime Victims’ Compensation Fund Application | Spanish
- Crime must occur in South Carolina
- Victim must sustain direct injury – (Physical or Psychological)
- South Carolina law requires DCVC to consider contributory or illegal behavior when making eligibility determinations
- Victim must cooperate with DCVC and Law Enforcement
- Crime must be reported within 48 hours (May be Waived)
- Claims must be filed within 180 days (May be Waived)
- Claim must be filed within 4 years of the incident
- Department of Crime Victim Compensation is considered the payer of last resort.
Once the application is printed and completed, mail to:
- Department of Crime Victim Compensation
- Edgar A. Brown Building
- 1205 Pendleton Street, Room 401
- Columbia, South Carolina 29201
Coordination with healthcare
South Carolina Coalition Against Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault (SCCADVASA) works with non-profit member organizations that provide direct services to survivors of domestic violence and/or sexual assault. Many of the organizations also provide prevention services and education. For services and assistance click: SCCADVASA.
DCVC – HIV Prevention Program for Victims of Sexual Assault – Brochure